Home NFL NFL Football

NFL Football

National Football League (NFL), major U.S. proficient turf football association, established in 1920 in Canton, Ohio, as the American Professional Football Association. Its first president was Jim Thorpe, an extraordinary American competitor who was likewise a player in the league. The present name was received in 1922. 


The league started play in 1920 and included five groups from Ohio (Akron Pros, Canton Bulldogs, Cleveland Tigers, Columbus Panhandlers, and Dayton Triangles), four groups from Illinois (Chicago Tigers, Decatur Staleys, Racine Cardinals [the Cardinals were situated in Chicago yet took the name of a nearby street], and Rock Island Independents), two from Indiana (Hammond Pros and Muncie Flyers), two from New York (Buffalo All-Americans and Rochester Jeffersons), and the Detroit Heralds from Michigan. Of these unique establishments, just two remain: the Cardinals left Chicago for St. Louis after the 1959 season and migrated to Arizona in 1988; the Decatur Staleys moved to Chicago in 1921 and after a year changed their name to the Bears. 


The NFL endure numerous long stretches of unsteadiness and rivalry from opponent associations to turned into the most grounded American expert football league. The most genuine test to its driving job originated from the American Football League (AFL) during the 1960s. The NFL and AFL finished a merger in 1970, making a 26-group circuit under the name of the more seasoned NFL. From that point forward the league has extended multiple times, including six new establishments. 


For a progressively complete history of football and the NFL, see football, turf. 


The league's 32 groups are adjusted as pursues: