Home Football NFL Oakland Raiders

NFL Oakland Raiders

Oakland Raiders, American professional turf football crew situated in Oakland, California, that plays in the National Football League (NFL). The Raiders have won three Super Bowl titles (1977, 1981, and 1984), one American Football League (AFL) title (1967), and four American Football Conference (AFC) titles. Seen by numerous individuals as the "scalawags" of the NFL in light of their noteworthy propensity for harsh play, the Raiders epitomize the proverb begat by long-term proprietor Al Davis: "Simply win, child." 


The Raiders were established in 1960 as one of the eight unique groups of the AFL. After three losing seasons, the establishment contracted Davis in 1963 to fill in as the group's head mentor and general administrator. He actualized a "vertical" passing assault, which depended on long tosses downfield to extend the restricting safeguard, and immediately transformed the group into a contender. Following a three-month stretch as AFL chief in 1966, Davis turned into a section proprietor of the Raiders and started purchasing out (and, now and again, compelling out) the other proprietors, eventually dealing with the group in 1976. 


With an offense featuring quarterback Daryle Lamonica and focus Jim Otto, the Raiders won the AFL title in December 1967, a triumph that sent the group to its first Super Bowl the next January (a misfortune to the Green Bay Packers). John Madden was employed as head mentor in 1969, and under his direction the Raiders turned into a world class group, posting back to back winning seasons during Madden's 10-year residency with the group and taking the establishment's first Super Bowl (1977). It was during this period that the Raiders manufactured a picture as a group of extreme, show no mercy players, for example, future Hall of Fame hostile linemen Jim Otto, Gene Upshaw, and Art Shell; linebacker Ted ("the Stork") Hendricks; guarded end Ben Davidson; and cornerback Willie Brown—who might at times go too far into grimy play. Those groups likewise highlighted an extra trio of future Hall of Fame players in tight end Dave Casper, kicker George Blanda, and wide collector Fred Biletnikoff, just as red hot quarterback Ken ("the Snake") Stabler. Goad's successor, Tom Flores (who was the Raiders' first beginning quarterback), shepherded the group to another Super Bowl triumph in 1981. 


Davis had been for some time vexed about the states of the Raiders' home arena when, in 1980, he consented to an update of arrangement promising to move the establishment to Los Angeles. The NFL obstructed the move, yet Davis won a milestone antitrust claim against the league in 1982, and the Raiders promptly moved. The group equipped for the playoffs in every one of their initial four seasons in Los Angeles, which incorporated another Super Bowl title in 1984. The groups of the 1980s included three future Hall of Famers—running back Marcus Allen, guarded lineman Howie Long, and cornerback Mike Haynes—and multisport sensation Bo Jackson, who exceeded expectations in both Major League Baseball and the NFL. 


Davis soured on the arena in Los Angeles throughout the years, and he moved the establishment back to Oakland in 1995. The Raiders battled in the years after their second move, in any case, behind a powerful offense driven by quarterback Rich Gannon and wide recipients Tim Brown and Jerry Rice, they progressed to the Super Bowl in 2003, which they lost to the Tampa Bay Buccaneers. From 2003 to 2015 the establishment was set apart by an absence of accomplishment on the field, poor staff choices, and a bad tempered front office, all of which impressively harmed the renowned Raiders' persona. 


In 2016 Oakland all of a sudden turned the corner, winning 12 amusements and fitting the bill for a playoff spot, however it was a brief turnaround, and the Raiders fell back to 10 misfortunes the next year. In 2018 the Raiders rehired head mentor Jon Gruden (who had recently instructed the group from 1998 to 2001), giving him the longest and most extravagant training contract in NFL history, yet the group posted a 4–12 record in his first season back in charge.