Home Football NFL Tennessee Titans

NFL Tennessee Titans

Tennessee Titans, American professional field football crew situated in Nashville, Tennessee. The Titans play in the American Football Conference (AFC) of the National Football League (NFL) and earned a compartment in Super Bowl XXXIV in 2000. The establishment was situated in Houston, Texas, and was known as the Oilers from 1960 to 1996, during which time it won two American Football League (AFL) titles (1960 and 1961). 


The Oilers were one of the eight unique AFL groups when the upstart league was established in 1960. Driven by quarterback George Blanda, they won the debut AFL title and rehashed as heroes the next year. The group came back to a third successive AFL title game in 1962, yet they lost a nearby challenge in twofold additional time to the Dallas Texans. The Oilers then posted four back to back losing seasons, and Blanda was discharged in 1967 after the group won just 3 of their 14 amusements in 1966. Houston bounced back to show up in 1967 and 1969. 


The 1970s brought an AFL-NFL merger and a downturn in the Oilers' fortunes, as the group won only one game in 1972 and again in 1973. Houston gradually improved through the span of the decade, and, after vivid head mentor Bum Phillips was contracted in 1975 to revitalize the group, they came back to the postseason in 1978. Behind an offense including wounding running back Earl Campbell and conspicuous wide beneficiary and kick returner Billy ("White Shoes") Johnson and a protection driven by linebacker Robert Brazile and end Elvin Bethea, the Oilers groups of the late 1970s enchanted the Houston fan base. These "Luv Ya Blue" Oilers (nicknamed for the fans' veneration of the blue-clad group) progressed to meeting title amusements after the 1978 and 1979 seasons yet were vanquished on each event by the Pittsburgh Steelers. A less-effective play-off billet came in 1980, and the Oilers rapidly fell back toward the base of the AFC standings during the ahead of schedule to mid-1980s. 


The Oilers marked quarterback Warren Moon out of the Canadian Football League in 1984, and the group before long bragged one the most powerful offenses in the league, additionally moored by Hall of Fame lineman Bruce Matthews. Moon drove the Oilers to seven straight postseason compartments from 1987 to 1993, yet they didn't figure out how to progress to a solitary meeting title in that range. The baffled Oilers possession then exchanged away a significant number of the group's best players, including Moon, and the group posted a 2–14 win-misfortune record during the 1994 season. During that year the Oilers elevated to head mentor guarded organizer Jeff Fisher, who might proceed to have the longest training residency in group history and manage the establishment's best time frame. 


Fisher's first seasons in control were eclipsed by the group proprietorship's craving to have the city of Houston fabricate another football-just arena and the Oilers' consequent movement to Nashville in 1997. The Oilers played one season in Memphis and one in Nashville at Vanderbilt University's football arena before their home arena was finished preceding the 1999 season. The group was then rechristened the Tennessee Titans, a name got from Nashville's sobriquet of "the Athens of the South." 


The Titans won 13 amusements in 1999 behind the champion play of quarterback Steve McNair and running back Eddie George, and the group's first make off showing in Nashville finished in significant design. Trailing the Buffalo Bills by a point with 16 seconds remaining, the Titans handled a short opening shot, and tight end Frank Wycheck tossed a horizontal over the field to collector Kevin Dyson, who effectively scored a game-winning 75-yard touchdown in a play that ended up known as the "Music City Miracle." The Titans then won two extra street make off diversions to gain the establishment's first Super Bowl compartment. In the Super Bowl the Titans again ended up trailing their rival (the St. Louis Rams) with seconds remaining, and the game finished with Dyson being drastically handled at the 1-yard line as he endeavored to score the tying touchdown. The Titans came back to the postseason in three of the following four seasons and progressed to the AFC title game in 2002 (a misfortune to the Oakland Raiders). 


After a couple losing seasons, in 2007 the Titans again settled themselves as one of the AFC's best groups. In 2008 they won 13 recreations to post the best record in the NFL however were annoyed with home by the Baltimore Ravens in the first round of the play-offs. The group's prosperity was fleeting. In 2013 the Titans missed the play-offs for the fifth back to back season, the group's longest postseason dry season since the establishment moved to Tennessee. The establishment came back to the play-offs following the 2017 season, losing in the second round after Tennessee had scored its first postseason triumph in 14 years.