Home Hockey NHL Washington Capitals

NHL Washington Capitals

Washington Capitals, American expert ice hockey group situated in Washington, D.C., that plays in the Eastern Conference of the National Hockey League (NHL). The Capitals have won two Eastern Conference titles (1998, 2018) and one Stanley Cup (2018). 


Established in 1974, the Capitals encountered a sad debut crusade, posting a record of 8–67–5 during the 1974–75 season. The group's .131 winning rate that season remains the most exceedingly awful in NHL history. The Capitals improved marginally over the next years, however the group in any case completed in either last or second-to-last place in its division in every one of the accompanying seven seasons. The "Tops" had their first winning record and playoff compartment in the 1982–83 season. Conservative Mike Gartner and defensemen Larry Murphy and Rod Langway drove the group to five back to back second-place divisional completes between 1983–84 and 1987–88. Washington won its first division title in 1988–89 and showed up in the meeting finals in 1989–90, however the Capitals neglected to propel any further in the postseason through the mid-1990s. 


In 1997–98 the Capitals, driven by conservative Peter Bondra and goaltender Olaf Kolzig, won their first gathering title and earned a spot in the Stanley Cup finals, which they lost to the Detroit Red Wings. The group posted winning records in four of the five seasons following their finals billet yet neglected to progress past the first round of the playoffs during that period. 


In 2004 the Capitals drafted wing Alex Ovechkin. He drove the group to four straight division titles between 2007–08 and 2010–11—including an alliance best record in 2009–10—and another division title in 2012–13, yet his Capitals groups were set apart by postseason frustration and neglected to progress past the second round of the playoffs in six successive appearances. The group's dash of postseason appearances finished in the 2013–14 season, yet the Capitals bounced back the accompanying season with a second-place divisional completion. In any case, Washington proceeded with its ongoing history of snakebitten postseason keeps running by losing—in the wake of having held a three-amusements to-one preferred position—an exciting second-round arrangement to the New York Rangers that saw each of the seven diversions chosen by one objective. 


It gave the idea that the Capitals may at last achievement in 2015–16 when the group set an establishment record with 56 wins and posted the best record in the NHL. In any case, Washington was wiped out by the Pittsburgh Penguins in the second round of the playoffs in six recreations, by and by enduring one-objective misfortunes all through the arrangement. The establishment's delayed postseason hopelessness proceeded in 2016–17, as the Capitals were again the best standard season group in the NHL with 55 wins however were indeed killed by the Penguins in the second round of the playoffs. 


The Ovechkin-time Capitals at long last got through in 2017–18. During those playoffs, Washington conquered a considerable lot of its past postseason evil presences, returning from a 2–0 arrangement shortfall in the first round, at long last crushing the Penguins in the second, and after that catching its first meeting title in 20 years (by means of a strained seven-game arrangement against the Tampa Bay Lightning) to win a compartment in the Stanley Cup finals. The Capitals crushed the Vegas Golden Knights, an establishment in its first year of activity, in five recreations to win the Stanley Cup. The triumph was not just the main title in the Capitals' 44-year history yet in addition Washington's first real elite athletics title in excess of 25 years. Ovechkin was granted the Conn Smythe Trophy as most profitable player of the postseason. The Stanley Cup triumph did not spell a conclusion to the establishment's ongoing history of early postseason flameouts, be that as it may: the Capitals won a fourth successive division title in 2018–19 however were vexed in the first-round playoff arrangement.